RSS

The elusive Raashi Mal speaks to us……

11 Sep

RM7


Gauri Lada……the bad …bad…girl


Its not often heard, the ‘Bad Girl’ of any show, loved and lauded by the audience. We see Gauri Lada has broken the shackles with Paanch. What is the secret behind this huge fan following?

I think what people saw in Gauri was a girl of today, a girl in control, a girl who knows her mind and knows how to get things done. She is strong and independent with a calm confidence, leave aside the means and tactics she employs. These are all very desirable traits. Girls get inspired by it and boys admire it. That is what I have gathered from all the messages I get on a daily basis.

You were called ‘Gauri’ in the show…’Gauri’..the other name of Goddess Durga, stood for destroying anything evil, making wrongs right…but in this show ‘Gauri’ led everything evil, wicked and malicious are her middle names, was there a theory behind this contradiction ?
What are your thoughts on this ?


I am not entirely sure so much thought went into the meaning of the name. But I think the name Gauri Laada had a certain ring to it. It went well with the character. I’ve also been told the name suited me. The names of some characters were changed to better suit the people who were cast from what I know, although I believe the name Gauri was always the first choice for my character.

Do you think an actor gets more opportunity to explore his/her talent while portraying a negative character?
Is it more challenging to play a negative character?


Each character is different. I can’t really say it is more difficult as each character has its own complexities. But it was definitely fun, I can tell you that. Secretly we all want to boss over people and get our way all the time, dont we? 🙂

RM2


Moving from Gauri to Rashi Mal………..
An engineer… a dancer…a theatre personality………an actress….
What defines you the best ? Any regrets on this huge change over ?



To answer your first question I’ll quote a teacher I am training with here in New York who just today said to me ” Dont let them define you as just one thing. Just go out there and make art, do your thing” She was a dancer who had a career ending injury and then became an actor. Today she is a Director and Choreographer. And to answer the second question I’ll quote Jim Carrey. He said he learnt from his father that you can fail at what you don’t want, so you’d rather to do what you really want. I don’t regret my choice for a minute.



Gauri enjoyed her authority, control and power, any threat to her position made her see red.
Is there any similarity between Rashi ‘n’ Gauri as per this attitude of hers? Is Rashi a totally different human being ?


Ofcourse I am a different person. But no person is devoid of all these emotions you just listed, just the degrees vary in my opinion. We all have shades of grey. Nothing is black or white in its entirety. Besides you can always find things to relate with in any character. I am very head strong as well and I like to do things my own way.


What keeps Raashi Mal going ? What are the dreams she is pursuing currently ?

My curiosity keeps me going. I am currently in New York taking dance, acting and singing lessons so I guess I am living my dreams. I want to bring back my experiences here to my work and life and storm ahead in the performing arts.

RM10


About Rashi Mal ……………

Sapnon ka shehar ………..New York

AnokhaBandhan……………With my brother

KhattiMeethiYaadein………Paanch

HazaronKhwaishein………..Hollywood

Humraaz…………………Mum

Hero No. 1 ……………..Ranbir Kapoor if you mean in terms of acting


Aab Kuchh Masti Ho Jaye…………………….

If you were to imagine each of your co-actor as a cartoon character…….what would they be ?

Sheetal

Tweety bird. I always told her she looks like tweety in the short hair. 🙂

Aashish

Johnny bravo – you know the muscles and all. 🙂 🙂

Kiran

Michelangelo perhaps from the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles cause he is always jumping around. Kiran also possess an extraordinary talent of being able to sleep at the drop of a hat literally anywhere. Sleepy Man was the super hero name we came up with for him on set. 🙂

Shrey

Jughead from Archies. Only because I cant think of any other cartoon character who is sweet,calm, collected and non meddlesome. Shrey was also known for the big bag of food he carried on set. Jughead loves his food too.But Shrey is any day much better looking than Jughead. 🙂 🙂 🙂

Pratap

Bart Simpson. He is just so so naughty. 🙂 🙂

Ronjini

Betty from Archies. She is smart and a best friend to everybody. 🙂 🙂

Shashank

Professor Utonium from the powerpuff girls cause he has to take care of and put up with us crazy people.
🙂 🙂 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 11, 2014 in Transcripts

 

Leave a Reply

 
